Featured Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix

This month we’re introducing you to Margaret Peterson Haddix. Ms. Haddix’s work features adventure and mystery, creating riveting, suspenseful stories for older elementary and middle school readers that you won’t want to put down.

Her brand-new book was just published on April 7 and isn’t even in the library yet! The Deceivers is the second in a new series called The Greystone Secrets. Both The Deceivers and the first book from the series, The Strangers, are now available as ebooks, so you don't have to wait for us to open again to dive into this series!

Ms. Haddix is best known for her dystopian Shadow Children series (Among the…). This fascinating series starts with Luke, a third-born child, who has to stay hidden in a society where families are only allowed two children. There is mystery, danger, adventure… and lots of feelings, from loneliness, to love, and courage.

She has also written a number of standalone books, as well as contributed to the 39 Clues series (book 10, Into the Gauntlet) and Jon Scieszka’s Guys Read: Thriller book. Older readers will find Just Ella in the Teen Den (or on Libby/Overdrive!); it is a fractured fairy tale version of Cinderella for older readers. Is being royal really all as wonderful as it looks, or is it difficult and suffocating for Ella?

The Greystone Secrets series and the first three books of the Shadow Children series are available to read on Libby/Overdrive, as well as a few of Ms. Haddix’s standalone books. Audio books of many of her books are available through Hoopla. You can also find The Remarkables - which we don’t own in the library yet, so this is your chance for exclusive access! Click here to find information on accessing ebooks.

 Find out more about Ms. Haddix and her books here!


Blog Category
Youth Services
Book Recommendations
Kids Book Recommendations