Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

LIBRARY OPEN FOR HOLDS PICKUP, QUICK BROWSING, AND COMPUTER USE!

Current hours: Monday - Wednesday & Friday - Saturday, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.; Thursday 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.

  • Visits are limited to a maximum of 45 minutes per person.
  • Total occupancy in the building is limited to 10 visitors at any given time, so short waits outside may be necessary.
  • Please go here for more information on what services are currently available.
  • Email us at info@amesfreelibrary.org, or call 508-238-2000.
  • Check out our list of online programs here!

Teen Events

Monday, March 15
10:00am - 5:00pm
In honor of March being National Reading Month grab this month's Teen Take and Make to create your own bookmark! Use your best skills to color in the designs found in your bag before gluing them to your premade bookmark. Be as creative as you want! Kits will be available to pick up at the library... Read more
Wednesday, March 17
4:00pm - 5:00pm
Are you between the ages of 12 and 18? Do you want to have a say in what happens at YOUR library?   If you answered yes to these questions, please consider joining the AFL Teen Advisory Board!   By joining the AFL Teen Advisory Board you can: Help plan... Read more
Monday, April 19
10:00am - 8:00pm
In celebration of the Patriot's Day holiday, the Ames Free Library will be closed.
Monday, May 31
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Memorial Day.
Monday, July 05
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed on Monday, July 5th, in observance of Independence Day.
Monday, September 06
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Monday, September 6 in observance of Labor Day.
Monday, October 11
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed for Columbus Day.
Thursday, November 11
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Veterans Day.
Thursday, November 25
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Thanksgiving.
Friday, December 24 to Saturday, December 25
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Friday, December 24th and Saturday, December 25th in observance of Christmas.
Friday, December 31 to Saturday, January 01
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Friday, December 31, 2021 and Saturday, January 1, 2022 in celebration of the new year!