Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

LIBRARY OPEN FOR HOLDS PICKUP, QUICK BROWSING, AND COMPUTER USE!

Current hours: Monday - Wednesday, Friday - Saturday, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

                       Thursday, 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Visits are limited to a maximum of 45 minutes per person.
  • Total occupancy in the building is limited to 10 visitors at any given time, so short waits outside may be necessary.
  • Please go here for more information on what services are currently available.
  • Email us at info@amesfreelibrary.org, or call 508-238-2000.
  • Check out our list of online programs here!

High School

Academic OneFile (Gale) is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Biography (Gale in Context ) offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.
Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research, classroom exploration, and curriculum standards.
Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, e-books, and other learning resources.
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues (Gale in Context) ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
High School Edition provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Helps students do more effective scholarly research and supports educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
Is a growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature. It supports the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.
Science (Gale in Context) is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.
World History (Gale in Context) is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.