Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

LIBRARY OPEN FOR HOLDS PICKUP, QUICK BROWSING, AND COMPUTER USE!

Current hours: Monday - Wednesday, Friday - Saturday, 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.

                       Thursday, 10 a.m. - 8 p.m.
  • Visits are limited to a maximum of 45 minutes per person.
  • Total occupancy in the building is limited to 10 visitors at any given time, so short waits outside may be necessary.
  • Please go here for more information on what services are currently available.
  • Email us at info@amesfreelibrary.org, or call 508-238-2000.
  • Check out our list of online programs here!

General

Academic OneFile (Gale) is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, e-books, and other learning resources.
General OneFile (Gale) is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.
High School Edition provides high school students with access to magazines, newspapers, books, and other reference content. The database offers audience-appropriate information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.
Lynda.com is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. For an introduction and tutorial about Lynda.com, visit our Tutorials page.
Covers timely issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.