Ames Free Library

"Where the Community Connects"

Special Events

Monday, February 27
6:00pm - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library is proud to once again host award-winning pastel artist Gregory John Maichack. In this two-hour workshop, participants will have fun producing their own pastel painting of Georgia O’Keeffe’s elegant Jimson flower that sold for $45.4 million. Maichack will demonstrate how... Read more
Wednesday, March 01
6:30pm - 7:30pm
Please plan to attend this family friendly PowerPoint presentation to learn how to use the new Library Telescope to observe objects from your own backyard using a technique called star hopping and see how easy it is to use! This telescope, donated to the Ames Free Library by the Avery Lee Williams... Read more
Monday, April 17
10:00am - 8:00pm
In celebration of the Patriot's Day holiday, the Ames Free Library will be closed.
Monday, May 29
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Memorial Day.
Tuesday, July 04
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed in observance of Independence Day.
Monday, September 04
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Monday, September 4 in observance of Labor Day.
Monday, October 09
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed for Columbus Day.
Friday, November 10
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Friday, November 10 in observance of Veterans Day.
Wednesday, November 22
10:00am - 5:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closing at 5:00 pm to allow for adequate brining.
Thursday, November 23
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Thursday, November 23 in observance of Thanksgiving.
Monday, December 25
10:00am - 8:00pm
The Ames Free Library will be closed Monday, December 25 in observance of Christmas.